George Washington Bridge Memories

DSCN0783

The rich and vibrant neighborhood of Washington Heights in the foreground with Fort Lee NJ in the background. In between stands the majestic George Washington Bridge.

In light of the recent controversy going on with this bridge – just Google “governor Chris Christie and George Washington Bridge” and you’ll get the full scoop that’s gripping the political world in the US right now – I decided to post a few pictures of this beautiful bridge that links my former neighborhood of Washington Heights and Fort Lee NJ.

I used to walk across this bridge every day to go to work and every night going home (a six mile roundtrip) before I got my first paycheck and took the bus to work. I was 21 years old and my mother had just passed away. I had no money and was days away from being homeless. The job came at an opportune time, saving me from facing even more desperate times. I remember walking on that bridge during rain, cold weather and on long tired nights. I took that time to mourn my mother, shedding many tears on that bridge. I talked to her and I said many silent prayers. I was at my lowest point in my life. I was alone with my thoughts, always thinking. I had no idea what was in store for me in my future. The only thing I knew was that I had to keep on taking those steps, one at a time and hoping for the best.

Those days seem like a lifetime ago. I’m not so different now than that 21 year old young man who walked across that bridge. I’m a little older and more than a little grayer. I smile now like I often do when I drive across that bridge. The bad times ultimately became good times and in the end, I turned out alright. So whenever I see this bridge in photos, on the news during traffic reports or when I’m driving over it, I am forever reminded of that special period in my life and I just smile.

The George Washington Bridge will always be my bridge and a symbol of home.

Waiting for the bus on the New York side at the port authority bus terminal.

Waiting for the bus on the New York side at the port authority bus terminal.

Leaving New Jersey leads you into Manhattan, specifically Washington Heights.

Leaving New Jersey leads you into Manhattan, specifically Washington Heights.

I posted this pic on flickr and another photographer commented how he tried to take a similar shot and was chased off by security. Post 9-11 fallout.

Construction began in 1927 and first opened to traffic in 1931. This steel behemoth is still as imposing and impressive since the day it was built.

Construction began in 1927 and first opened to traffic in 1931. This steel behemoth is still as imposing and impressive today since the day it was built.

Two 570-foot steel towers uphold a 3,500 foot center span.

Two 570-foot steel towers uphold a 3,500 foot center span.

The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Gray Bridge in Fort Washington Park.

The Little Red Lighthouse and the Great Gray Bridge in Fort Washington Park.

A recent picture of the bridge. This is what welcomes me on my way home.

A recent picture of the bridge. This is what welcomes me on my way home.

5 responses to “George Washington Bridge Memories

  1. really amazing shots of the bridge – love the different views – and nice connection to the news story – (and gosh how stupid is that – to think they would cause such havoc) – anyhow, fun post!

Would LOVE to read your comments but please forgive me if I'm unable to respond at times...

