To My Friends, I Thank You All

Hector Collazo and his sister Jessica Collazo-Medrano, may you both rest in peace together.

One week ago this very day I learned that my best friend of 35 years and brother passed away quite suddenly of a heart attack. His name was Hector Collazo and was 45 years young and was on the cusp of becoming a great success in the comics industry once again. I lost a soul-friend and my life without him will NEVER be the same.

I haven’t the will nor the energy to really write anything these past few days but when I saw Friday’s Weekly Photo Challenge on being thankful, the choice in picture was quite easy for me. On another day or so I’ll write a more in-depth post about my friend. For now, I’ll just express how thankful I am to have had him in my life.

I took the picture above when a close-knit group of friends and I went to Bowlmor Lanes in NYC a decade ago to hang out. I remember that night as if it was yesterday – we had so much fun! Hector’s playful actions, wit and humor comes across very easily in this pic. He sits next to his sister who had passed away several years ago. They are now together in the afterlife.

I am thankful for not only having such an incredible brother and sister in my lifetime but for being here in the now enjoying the rich experiences of my other close friends and family. I am thankful for having good health (which much too often we take this for granted) and for being simply alive and surrounded with so much love. I am also incredibly thankful for the newfound friends (and more to come) I’ve met in the wake of Hector’s passing. They are so warm, loving, and supportive as we all share in our grief together.

This post is for my friends. I love you all and treasure your friendship immensely.

7 responses to “To My Friends, I Thank You All

  1. Wonderful post, Nando. It’s so important, isn’t it, that we tell those we love how much we appreciate them when they are still here to be blessed by our words and acts of love.

    • So true, Sandra. I’m just glad that I was able to do so quite frequently with him along with all my other friends. Thank you for your words.

  2. i too miss them dearly. They were both great friends.They were true to themselves and to everyone who knew them. Decades ago Jessie nicknamed me ” sweetWillie “. A name that has stuck with me for years. She was a person that to know her was to love her. Hector a true counterpart. Laughter was a gift he gave in abundance. His quick wit and humor kept a smile on any face near enough to experience it. He too gave me a nickname that followed me for years ” Javi-oskey 1 “. Two of the most endearing that have ever lived. But I thank you Nando aslo because it was through you that these two special soul came to befriend me. you have always been a great guy. You gave him that pick-me-up. when he needed it. Your friendship was as important to him as his was to you. in his last days you were the confidant that kept him and sometimes the source of new inspiration. We do not always get to say all the things we would like to about people while there are still around. I just thought you deserve a few words. You always give and write beautiful words about others…

    • I’ve never forgotten that I’m still blessed with other equally brilliant and awesome brothers in this lifetime. Thank you so much, Will.

  3. I just learned of Hector’s passing. What a tremendous loss. Hector, myself, and the Bucce were high school interns at Marvel back in 1985. So many good memories. What a talented man he was. My condolences to his family and friends…
    Mike Rockwitz

    • Hello Mike, his loss is still felt today but many friends, his former Marvel/DC colleagues and his family. I still can’t believe he’s gone. Reach out to me via FB if you wish. Take care.

Would LOVE to read your comments but please forgive me if I'm unable to respond at times...

